There were 1,041 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 211,167 in the last 365 days.

Angola: Interior minister backs strict visa waiver procedure

Luanda, ANGOLA, April 11 - Angolan minister of Interior Ângelo Tavares Wednesday defended strictness in implementing agreement and exemption and simplification procedures of administrative acts for granting tourist visas to citizens from 61 countries, in the interest of national security. ,


In order to ensure the implementation of this procedure, the minister spoke of the need of  the staff at checkpoints to have great sense of responsibility and patriotic spirit.


The official stressed the need to resist attempts of bribery or corruption and not facilitate illegal entry, among the practices that might jeopardise national security.


The Interior minister was addressing an opening ceremony of Methodological Meeting on Visa Waiver and Facilitation Procedure, that came into force from 28 March this year.


Ângelo Tavares said that the State agents  should put into operation the methods created for this purpose.


According to the minister, the staff need to prevent acts such as money laundering, terrorist financing and trafficking in human beings.


The minister said that facilities created around the process should contribute greatly to the movement of investors and tourists.


Under the current legislation, he said, the consulates must assume the responsibility for issuing work visa and others linked to the consular nature.


The official defended the need to place great demand on foreigners’ technical and professional profile in order to avoid the issuance of work visas for specialties in which qualified nationals can be used.


Ângelo Tavares also denounced attempts by some companies to blister the contractual wage of foreign technicians as a surreptitious form of illicit expatriation of capital to the benefit of the origin of these foreigners.


In view of the Interim Plan set by Executive to improve the business environment and increase national productivity and competitiveness, the Head of State decreed visa exemptions to five countries, namely Botswana, Mauritius, the Seychelles, Zimbabwe and Singapore.


The Law also stipulates the exemption regime and procedures for simplifying administrative acts for granting of a tourist visa to citizens from 35 countries.


Of the covered countries, nine are from Africa, with stress to Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Cabo Verde, Sao Tome and Principe, Morocco, Swaziland, Algeria and Zambia.


Eight from the Americas (Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cuba, United States and Venezuela) and seven from Asia (South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, China, India, Indonesia, Israel and Japan).


The procedures also covers the Member States of the European Union and eight other States of European continent, like Norway, Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Republic of Iceland, Monaco, Russia, Swiss Federation and the Vatican State.


Australia, New Zealand and East Timor are the three Oceania States covered by the simplification mechanism for granting of tourism visas.